Lahore Qalandars outclassed Again


Lahore Qalandars captain Sohail Akhtar won the toss and decided to field first and Islamabad United scored 198 for 3 wickets in the stipulated overs.

Colin Munro and Luke Ronchi from Islamabad got off to a fantastic start and established an opening partnership of 103 runs. On the occasion, Luke Ronchi was out for 48. After that, Shadab Khan also returned to the pavilion for only 7 runs.

Colin Ingram scored 29, but Munro and Asif Ali did not allow any further damage. Munro (87) and Asif Ali (20 off 6 balls) remained undefeated.

After losing the first wicket of Chris Lynn on duck, the Lahore Qalandars could not handle the pressure of chase and the wickets continued to fall on regular intervals.

Mohammad Hafeez 10, Ben Dunk 25, Salman Butt 21, Samit Patel 6, Mohammad Faizan 6, Captain Sohail Akhtar 8, Sekugge Prasanna 8 and Salman Irshad scored only one run.

Lahore Qalandars top scorer was Usman Khan Shinwari, who scored 30 off 14 balls with 4 sixes. From Islamabad, Ruman Raees and Zafar Gohar took three wickets each, Shadab Khan took two wickets while Akif Javed and Dale Steyn took one wicket each.

Colin Munro was awarded Player of the match for his brilliant knock.